The web today

For an author that admits he can hardly read past a few paragraphs, Nicholas Carr certainly writes enough pages to articulate his point in Is Google Making Us Stupid?
Despite the length, I do believe that Carr does a good job illustrating the challenge of today’s norms through the seemingly negative aspects of evolving technology and emphasis on shorter works.

Personally I can relate to a desire for short works. When I search for something on google, I acknowledge the convenience and expect the answer in the most concise manner. Take for example a social question. Should I be interested on generic social, relationship, or health advice, I expect to find what I am looking for in the first suggested websites. If the first link guides me to a page with multiple paragraphs, I quickly click the “back” arrow in hopes that the next link will offer the same information in a more concise manner.

Carr draws an interesting point that this transition defies what was formerly valued: concentration and contemplation. I wouldn’t be surprised if this statement was widely accepted, or agreed upon others. I think that our culture promotes shortness and multi-tasking, through which there is a great loss. However, I do not necessarily think the loss is both concentration and contemplation.

Concentration: yes. Maybe more and more people are becoming diagnosed with ADD, but I do think that society is losing an ability to focus. Although I am less convinced that we are moving away from contemplation. I think the transition to multitasking over concentrating evokes a newer sense of contemplation: a contemplation that demands specificity and an ability to make the connections between the multiple concepts that are available.

We have mode for logic.  The language, the “electracy” is to be accumulated and change just as we’ve known and experienced literacy to change. Acknowledging an evolved concept of contemplation would be more consistent with the rest of the article as it seems to establish that change isn’t bad, just different.

 

